Hirsutes you sir!

Last November I decided, after catastrophic levels of work-based peer pressure, to participate in Movember. For the uninitiated amongst you, Movember involves growing a moustache during November to raise money and awareness of prostate cancer. 

All in all the experience was appalling with myriad travesties perpetrated but that is another story maybe for another post. However there was one stand-out travesty of social interaction I must share with you all. 

I was explaining Movember to a senior colleague and had the following painful conversation: 

Them  “What’s that on your top lip?” 
Me       “I’m growing a moustache for charity”
Them  “Oh really?”
Me       “Yes. I’m doing it for prostate cancer. It’s dreadful and I hate it!”
Them  “Yes it is a terrible disease an uncle of mine had it and…”
Me       “No. I meant the moustache is dreadful and I hate it. I take it as a given that everyone hates cancer…”

I wanted to run away like Napoleon Dynamite exiting stage left.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

